A favourite year round dress: work, rest, play

I am back in the fashion stakes!

It has been a while since I have posted a style post, apologies! The past few weeks have been hectic but I am so excited to say there a quite a few posts in the works, and some great outfit posts in particular being developed.

Again, my dear friend Linhlan has been my personal photographer – this time we shot around the gorgeous Milsons Point area.

This is one of my all time favourite dresses which I picked up on my latest trip in NYC.

I love the way I feel in this dress – a mix of sexy, feminine but also quite serious. It makes me feel like an empowered woman. It’s made of a very light material with a shorter skirt so it’s perfect for the summer months. But, with the long sleeves it can very easily be worn in the cooler months too.

The top part is fitted with with buttons from neck to navel, whilst the skirt flairs out slightly. This is the perfect combination to accentuate the waist while also showing the natural curves of my hips and ass. It’s also a flattering combination for someone who holds a lot of weight, like myself, around the middle.

It comes with a thin black patent belt which has some silver detail. Not only is this the perfect accessory for the dress, but I have also paired it with many other outfits to highlight my waist.

The black and white houndstooth pattern also makes this outfit a classic which is certainly my style preference. However, the style and length of the dress also makes it fun and playful.

Another reason I love it, is because of how versatile it is. I wear it to work (works for both conservative and funky client meetings), out for cocktails with the girls or a high end restaurant. When building a long term wardrobe these are all things to consider!

In relation to accessories, very little is needed because of the pattern – I haven’t included any in these pics. Less is more!

For shoes I have paired with nude pumps, but I mostly wear with black patent heels (pumps) however stroppy also looks good. I have worn this dress with flats, but prefer the look with heels, particularly as the skirt is rather short as they make my legs look longer.

And ladies, for this shoot I chose not to wear any make up. I know many of you chose not to leave the house without your ‘mask’ but sometimes it can be very liberating.

Enjoy….

P.S. Apologies for the lack luster modelling!

DSC02565

DSC02580

DSC02573

 

DSC02634

 

 

DSC02619

 

 

DSC02611

DSC02602

 

DSC02635

 

DSC02650

 

DSC02659

Outfit Details:

Dress: Calvin Klein, houndstooth pattern in black and white (purchased at Macy’s)

Shoes: Target, Adelle heels in nude 

5 thoughts on “A favourite year round dress: work, rest, play

    • Thanks for the kind words, Eleesha! There will be plenty more content in the future!! Someone needs to take a stand – hopefully more will do so seeing me take action and have loud voice.

  1. Pingback: Five Ways to Style a Basic Dress, No Matter What Color It Is

Leave a Reply

