An obsession with Marks and Spencer

I do have some favourite brands – many of which you know about: Saks, Bloomingdales, Neiman Marcus, Ralph Lauren, Jones New York, Lafayette148ny and the list does keep on going.

However, a few weeks ago I was randomly googling other plus size options. I was a bit bored with what was available and I needed some classics. To date, I had really only had success with US based retailers and brands. Apart from a couple of designers, I didn’t have success with UK retailers. Until now….

I was looking at Marks and Spencer and noticed they had a plus size range. I originally bought a few items from it but as UK sizing is different to US sizing I was shooting in the barrel a bit.

Surprisingly, most of the clothes I bought were too big. For tops and jackets I am normally range form a US 18 to a US 22. Thinking the sizing was two bigger, I bought a size UK 26 jacket. It is a tad big but I wear it ALL the time. In fact, I haven’t worn a jacket so many times, in such a short period of time, for a very long time.

I also bought some boyfriend jeans in a size UK 28 and they were literally falling off me. I later bought them in a size 26 (also too big), and now I have settled on a size 24 in some excellent navy chinos. I may have bought those in pink too….

Another favourite is a black trench which I have posted photos of here. Again, the quality is good, especially for the price point.

But, what I found most impressive, was clothing unto 24 wasn’t restricted to the plus size section which goes up to a size 28. Some items only go up to 16, others 18, 20, 22 and 24. The vast majority of the clothes I have purchased (of which there are many!!!) are not form the selection of clothes in the plus size section. Frankly, that’s how it should be. Available for women – not petite, ‘normal’ or plus size, but WOMEN.

I have many outfit posts coming up and most of these are from M&S, so watch this space!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

