The Sydney Skinny 2015 – Yay or Nay?

Many of you have been asking if I am participating in The Sydney Skinny 2015. After much deliberation, I have decided to do it!! AND, instead of participating myself, I will be involved in Team Nudie. Surprisingly, the decision wasn’t as easy as last year. This year there were more elements to consider…one being I had already done it. Was I going to achieve anything else by doing it again? The fact I decided to do it last year was a big thing for me. But it proved to be such a great experience which I think back on very fondly. The lead up to the swim was filled with so many great experiences. I had the privilege of being invited to the Blackmores HQ where I met with a gorgeous naturopath who gave me lots of tips and tricks on how to physically be prepared for the swim. The test runs were a hoot and the final event really forced me to push my own mental boundaries. For others, it pushed them physically as there are options for a 300 and 900 metre swim. This years participation will be more difficult – partly because my body is softer. But mainly because 2014 proved to be a roller coaster for me, and unknowingly my confidence took a hit. Those experiences had nothing to do with the physical me yet the impact on how I viewed myself was obvious. Thinking all this through made me realise that it was more important than ever to push my own boundaries. I fundamentally believe in doing things which make me a little uncomfortable because I know that if I don’t, I won’t change. Many of you reading this will automatically identify parts of your life which need some pizzazz and know exactly what I am saying. Doing day in day out activity can takeover your life without realising nothing is really changing. So here I am, standing in front of you, asking for your support. Whether your support be positive words of encouragement, or even deciding to take the plunge and do something yourself which pushes your own boundaries. Your support could also be financial. Similarly to last year, I have decided to raise money for The Foundation for National Parks and Wildlife – the link to my fundraising page can be found here. Even $10 would be helpful! I am sure to document the adventure that will be the Sydney Skinny 2015!

However, if you don’t want to donate, you’re always welcome to join me and the rest of the Nudie Crew!

7 thoughts on “The Sydney Skinny 2015 – Yay or Nay?

      • BIM is wave 6 @ 10:30 and Nudie wave is 11 @ 11:45, back in 2013 on the 1st skinny I was in the first wave and then afterwards myself and two mates lay on the sand watching everyone finish their swims and seen the excited looks on their faces and heard the comments about how great it was.

        I’m hoping this year the atmosphere infects my wife with some better body image 😉

        Here’s a picture of me so if I come up you will recognise me (one of the only pics I can find on the internet where I’m not naked, so you may not recognize me LOL )

        http://imgmf0.starnow.com/53/2940053_5230134.jpg?t=799

        MIchael

  1. Pingback: The Sydney Skinny 2015 – Yay or Nay? | Nudeyman

Leave a Reply

