Houndstooth paired with a spot of colour

Getting back to my roots this morning – a clothes post!

During many conversations with friends, colleagues and all of you, there seems to be some serious resistance about too much colour or too big-a-pattern. Reading between the lines, I hear too many women worried about standing out and being noticed.

Bugger it! Why not wear pieces you love.

A favourite pattern of mine (and many of you!) is houndstooth – the black and white checkered pattern. I have several houndstooth pieces, including one of my favourite dresses of all time. With a wardrobe bursting with clothes, naturally I also have a couple of fab Ralph Lauren tops – one being a high necked, short sleeve piece. I personally don’t think it’s a particularly flattering top on me. I have a short neck, so a high neck top isn’t ideal. The material is also quite thin and clingy, so again not overly flattering me. But, I love it.

In the pics below, I have paired this top with a fav pair of Jones New York green pants. If you don’t want to stand out, brightly coloured pants may not be the best choice.

What pieces do you love?

 DSC03284

DSC03231

DSC03358

DSC03391

DSC03415

DSC03423

Outfit Details: 

Top: Houndstooth, short sleeve top by Ralph Lauren

Pants: Green pants by Jones New York

Shoes: By Ivanka Trump Collection

Leave a Reply

