Nail (polish) Me: How to Open a Stuck Bottle of Nail Polish

At the beginning of the year, one of my resolutions was to grow my nails.

Well, for the vast majority of this year I failed. However, over the last few weeks, my nail biting habit has been a little more restrained.

Even though I typically get manicures (helps with not biting my nails!) today I decided to paint my stumpy nails. As I tried to open my OPI Top Coat, the damned thing was stuck.

So, it seemed like the perfect opportunity to demonstrate how to fix this all too common problem.

Firstly, try wrapping a rubber band around the cap; more often than not if fixes the problem by giving you some extra grip.

However, in my case I needed something a little more hardcore. Thankfully, it’s an easy solution.

You just need to:

Hold the base of the nail polish and keep the cap under running hot water. Hold it there for at least 30 seconds.

OR

Pour some hot water into a bowl or glass, and hold the base of the nail polish but submerge the cap into the hot water. Again, hold it there for at least 30 seconds.

I needed to repeat this process twice for about a minute per time.

After I managed to open the lid, I used a cotton wipe and ran it over the top and sides of the nail polish jar to prevent it from happening again!

It’s so simple but so effective! You’re welcome 🙂

One thought on “Nail (polish) Me: How to Open a Stuck Bottle of Nail Polish

Leave a Reply

