For Community and Challenge: Blackmores Sydney Running Festival – 20th September 2015

My dislike of running has been well documented on this blog.

But for some strange reason, I decided to sign up for the Blackmores Sydney Running Festival on the 20th September.

There are four different events – 3.5km family fun, 9km bridge run, 21km half marathon and 42km full marathon.

I will be doing the 9km bridge run. Well, mostly walk but I will attempt to jog along the way because why the hell not!

Despite my dislike for jogging, running or anything faster than a walk, I decided to participate for two reasons: community and challenge. It has been a long time since I have connected with, or done anything with the Sydney community. And as a member of the Sydney community it was time to get involved in some way. I am definitely looking forward to being spurred on by the people of this great city and enjoy the party vibe I am sure will be alive and well.

The other element which has been missing from my life is a challenge. You know I like to challenge myself. Goals are important as they help me achieve more and keep me focused; it’s also important to keep things spicy – in all parts of my life!

I only signed up a couple of weeks ago, and my training really only started last week – whoops! I was told the final week in the lead up to a run is to rest….well, as my efforts have been so limited I won’t do this, but was cause for much amusement! Different kettle of fish for true athletes!

My training has been my personal training sessions with Vision PT Neutral Bay in addition to extra walking/jogging, steps and some gym classes.

There are 5 days till race day, so if you too would like to participate, or would like further information, click here.

I will let you know how I go, but maybe I will see you there!

Leave a Reply

