What can happen in a week?

Last Monday, I mentioned my new diet – no dairy (excluding a morning coffee) and no refined carbohydrates (apart from Vita Wheat).

I eat a lot of cheese, drink a lot of milk and accompany most of my meals with bread, pasta or rice. To say the least, cutting all this out has been a major challenge for me. You may remember several days ago, when I had a little meltdown….

I am proud to say that I have stuck with it. OK, I know it has only been a week, but IT HAS BEEN A WEEK! With some interesting results.

Firstly, I’ve shed 2kgs!  My skin is also looking significantly different – it’s more clear and I’d also say I have more of that ‘glow’ those famous people talk about. And, the small sections of facial hair which grow rather enthusiastically under my chin? Slowed!

The results have surprised me. The hair growth is hormonal due to my PCOS, but to see a growth change within a week, I found quite remarkable.

Despite the results, the process has been very difficult. I am the awkward customer at restaurants asking to swap that delicious haloumi for something not so delicious. What comes out is typically a miss mash of 2-3 other items on the menu. And, the amount of food I have been consuming is …well….enormous. I’m eating three main meals per day in addition to 2-3 significants snacks. Before dinner last night, I ate 5 Vita Wheat (approved) with chilli tuna and a mango! Then downed 400 grams of homemade meatballs. I was totally ravenous. Not a typical amount of food for me to eat.

The goal for this week, is to up the exercise from 3 x 30 min weights session and a 1 hour walk to 3 x 30 min weights sessions, a 1 hour walk and 2 x 30 min high intensity classes at the gym. I am curious to see what I will be writing about this time next week!

I hope you will stick with me on this journey…

One thought on “What can happen in a week?

Leave a Reply

