Hair care obsession: Coconut oil

I have a new obsession – coconut oil.

As usual, I am late on the beauty band wagon but if you’re not lathering your hair with coconut oil, you’re crazy; particularly if our Australian summer has fried your locks as much as it has to mine.

But, as I stared back at myself in the bathroom mirror last week, I noticed just how  supremely out of control hair was. So, I decided to was going to tame my wild locks.

I’d heard a lot about Moroccon oil products and how they managed even the most unmanageable hair (remember, I have very thick, long hair). But, I wanted to try something natural, and not so expensive (OUCH!), first. While I was at my friends place, there was some coconut oil on the bench, and wondered if it would be suitable as a deeply nourishing hair mask.

So, I tested it out. I wanted to keep it simple, no lavender oil, or ground aloe vera, I just wanted the basic nourishing goods. I can experiment with the add ons later.

I will say, the longer you can leave the oil in your hair the better – I would recommend at least 2 hours. I left it in for 5 hours.

You will need:

  1. 3-5 tablespoons of coconut oil (depends on how long your hair is)
  2. 2 bowls (one large and one small)
  3. Spoon
  4. Shower cap
  5. Comb
  6. A bottle of wine, several movies, and a block of (dark) chocolate

 

Here is what I did:

  • Wash, or dampen your hair, and air dry;
  • Scoop the coconut oil into smaller bowl;
  • Fill the larger bowl with hot water and place the smaller bowl into it. Do not let the smaller bowl float, or fill with water;
  • When the coconut oil melts, use the spoon to pour over your hair. Massage the oil into the dry parts of your hair and avoid your scalp if it’s naturally oily. Comb your hair so the oil is evenly spread throughout.
  • Wrap your hair in a shower cap, small towel or glad wrap (which can make for a very awkward conversation with your partner…) for at least an hour.
  • Drink wine, eat chocolate and watch a movie while you wait for your hair to absorb all the goodness!
  • Shampoo your hair to remove the oil. You may need to do this multiple times.

 

I hope your hair benefits as much as mine has! I plan on doing this at least once a week to ensure my hair is well nourished.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

