Scallops and Chorizo

I typically choose recipes based on taste and ease. I am not a talented cook, so it needs to be easy! I also have a kitchen the size of a shoe box.

As I was scrolling through Instagram, I saw an AMAZINGLY delicious picture of a Nigella Lawson dish – scallops and chorizo. YUM!

Versatility is also really important to me, and this dish is perfect for a quick mid-week meal, albeit a bit extravagant, or a diner party.

As it’s refined carbohydrate and dairy free, I too have been able to enjoy it despite my current dietary requirements.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

main

Recipe found: Nigella.com

 

  • 110 grams of chorizo
  • 400 grams small scallops (halve them to make 2 thinner discs if they are very fat)
  • juice of ½ lemon 
  • tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

 

  1. Slice the chorizo into rounds no thicker than 3mm / 1/8 inch.
  2. Heat a heavy-based pan on the hob and, when hot, dry-fry the chorizo round until crisped on either side (the chorizo will give out plenty of its own oil); this should take no more than 2 minutes.
  3. Remove the chorizo to a bowl and fry the scallops in the chorizo-oil for about 1 minute a side.
  4. Return the chorizo to the pan with the scallops, add the lemon juice and let bubble for a few seconds before arranging on a serving plate and sprinkling with lots of parsley.

Additional information – for gluten free most chorizo is gluten free but please check packaging.

Leave a Reply

