Tips to have a clutter free wardrobe

clutter1

As all my friends will attest, I do not lead the clutter free lifestyle. I don’t buy junk or nick knacks, but I have a small apartment with minimal storage space, and I have so many clothes. Most of my ‘stuff’ is clothes. I just really, really love clothes. So in order to tame what some may consider a disaster, here are my top tips to keep my wardrobe functional and relatively clutter free.

CREATE AN ORDERED, STRUCTURED WARDROBE

A wardrobe which has been with designated to maximise the space and with specific spots for shirts, dresses, skirts, pants is an ordered, easy to use wardrobe. When I designed my wardrobe, I specifically wanted sections for clothing categories. This was the best decision! When I’m short on time, I know exactly where to look for the perfect party dress, or that favourite shirt and skirt combo. I even take it one step further and colour code (white through to black); this may be over the top, but again, it helps me make a decision fast while showcasing all my beautiful clothes.

DON’T OWN CLOTHES YOU DON’T LIKE

Why is it that the ugly jumper your mum gave you for your birthday 5 years ago still in my wardrobe?  with several holes you bought five seasons ago still necessary? You might plan on using it to paint your future house, but what purpose does it play in your life now?  How many ugly sweatshirts are you hanging onto just because you might wear them to paint the garage some day? Put those suckers out to pasture. (And when painting day comes, we promise you’ll find a way not to be topless.)

WHAT TO DO WITH CLOTHES YOU LOVE, BUT NO LONGER NEED

Style changes but there are items in my wardrobe which I still love, and no longer need. My size also changes faster than I would like to admit. I find the best way of unloading these items, giving them to charity (the feels are good with this option), sell directly to friends (who get a ridiculous bargain) and eBay . Local markets are also an option but that’s a significant time and energy investment.

HOW DOES IT MAKE YOU FEEL?

Clothes are highly emotional tools. An outfit can change the way you feel about yourself, so why would you own clothes which don’t make you feel like the slayer you are or want to be? Unless you feel like a goddess in it, throw it out.

THEY DON’T DISTINGUISH BETWEEN SUMMER AND WINTER WARDROBES

The beauty of buying classic, great quality items is you want to wear them all year round. They look and feel great, so with a few minor additions a summer wardrobe can easily be turned into a wardrobe suitable for the cooler months. A good rule of thumb: Your entire yearly wardrobe should fit in your drawers and closet. If it doesn’t, you need to purge.

WHEN YOU BUY A NEW ITEM, THEY THROW OUT AN OLD ONE

I was discussing space (or rather, a lack of) with my aunty and she told me that for every item she buys, she throws an item out. Ever since I stick to this rule like glue. When I buy a new pair of shoes, I throw a pair out. If I buy a new top, I throw an old, hole-y top out. Because I like to bend the rules, I sometimes throw something else out. I buy a new dress, so I throw some old sheets out. Whatever the case, if I buy something new, another item has to go.

Leave a Reply

